I’ve been a fan of this until recently, relatively unknown band of sexy rockers for a few years now, I discovered them through my hero and music God  Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age, Them Crooked Vultures etc) they absolutely boneshakingly rock with a great sense of humour and fun. Quite different from their name they don’t play death metal at all, Josh Homme has described it as “bluegrass slide guitar mixed with stripper drum beats and Canned Heat vocals.”

See for yourself in the link below.

EODM’s video for complexity

Here is the story of why they’re called The Eagles of Death Metal Where did the name come from? That should clear that up!

I had really wanted to see them for some time and when they announced a uk tour I was there! I bought my ticket and knew it would be a great night even if I didn’t have anyone to go with. They’re the kind of band that have awesome friendly like minded, loving, out for a good time fans, like me. I’m lucky enough to be a member of an amazing group of friends and fans of all things QOTSA and through this group I found two very kind souls Maria and Pat who offered to let me crash at their house and go to the concert with them, they didn’t know me but they welcomed me into their home and I was so touched by that gesture.

image
A picture I took of the EODM boys rocking out (one of a few as I was enjoying it too much)

So, at the beginning of this month, I was at an Eagles of Death Metal concert in Southampton with a room full of wonderful people, my kin, we were having a great time, I mean a REALLY great time! The band were rocking us hard, their fast tempo sexy rock was moving us and grooving us, we were all dancing and singing along, a little high/drunk/happy on life… I felt like I belonged with these people, that’s the thing about EODM’s fans. Even the ones I haven’t met are friends to me.

image
Jesse Hughes, a sweet souled front man who has such a great connection with his fans

9 days later on the 13th November EODM were rocking a crowd in France, just like they do, heartfelt and energetically. I don’t watch the news so I didn’t know what was happening until I went onto Facebook and saw a very worrying post on Maria’s profile from her and Pat’s son  Patrick, he was worried about his parents, after about a minute it became clear that they were there at the Paris gig. My family and friends and myself in the QOTSA group were all sick with worry feeling helpless for our friends and their children. We finally found out they were safe but that their mates had been shot and that people were being killed, beautiful young souls being taken, we were desperate to hear if the band were ok, hoping not to hear of any more deaths.

image
The crest of the QOTSA Family, only a few original members have their own pin (drink wine and screw is a QOTSA lyric)

It really shook the world, as it would but it hit home to me and my music kin just how close to home it was, this was our band, many had met them, knew they were decent and kind, so many of us have been to lots of gigs, only the week before I was at one of their concerts, Maria and Pat had gone to the back, networking with many friends they’d met before, they’d seen EODM about 60 times (I’m not sure of the exact number) and I was glued to the front left, My first time seeing them, I took my place on the barrier at the front and didn’t move (accept for vigorous butt shaking and kiss blowing to the band) till the end.

Thank goodness that they stayed front left in Paris, gunmen came in from the rear and they would’ve been hit. We found out later that they ventured back into the venue to help their friend Brian who had been crushed in the rush to the exit. They insist it’s nothing and that anyone would’ve done it, but in panic the fight or flight instinct of many would’ve made them run and never look back.

I have only met Maria and Pat once but they are genuinely the nicest people you could wish to meet, they fed me, offered me drinks all the time, paid for the taxis (poor jobless single mum that I am I only had whiskey to offer) made sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed to stay there at their house and got up early to take me to the boat. I fell in love with the pair of them for they are decent souls and from that night I felt relaxed and like I was with real family.

image
Maria and Pat, the real Queen and King of Rock and Roll

I speak for my brothers and sisters in my music family when I say that they are heroes, known to many as Mother Superior and Mother Superior’s husband! They have seen EODM and QOTSA over 150 times collectively (not an exact number) and followed the Sisters of Mercy for years.

We heard of other attacks in Paris as well as the Bataclan, the death toll was rising, we wept for our lost humans, even the survivors if physically unharmed would suffer the trauma mentally for years to come. What an awful sick thing to do to people, who could do this and why?! I just don’t understand how and why innocents are the victims of war.

The whole time this was going on one of our QOTSA family members was putting call outs to members that were or could’ve been there, it was a very tense 48 hours wait to make sure everyone was accounted for.

Once our friends were home and the injured members were doing ok and family safe, we wondered how the band would take the loss of their fans, we know they are genuine sweet people who would’ve been hit hard by this.

Our fears were that they would break down, give up, cancel tours, who could blame them really? We waited on tenterhooks to find out how they were, all of us wanted them to know we loved them and supported them, fans from around the world were sending love and showing them how much they meant to them.

Vice released a trailer for an interview, it seemed to be quite a sick move, using the band to ‘tease’ when all we wanted was to hear from them ourselves.

The vice interview

The interview is quite harrowing to watch, those big tough rock stars that we love so obviously shaken to their core, but remaining positive and vowing to finish the Bataclan gig. It made me cry when I watched it.

“I want to be the first band to play in the Bataclan when it opens back up, because I was there when it went silent for a minute..our friends went there to see rock n roll and died, I’m gonna go back there and live.” – Jesse Hughes

My heart goes out to all lives lost, their families and friends, all those affected in anyway. I can’t do much at all but send my love so I wrote a poem (that’s just what I do.)

I wrote this originally in Maria Moore’s Facebook post where she said that they were going to le Bataclan to lay flowers at 5pm the day after, it’s my way of expressing my feelings and love to the lost brothers and sisters ❤️ if I couldve been there to pay my respects I would be ✌🏻️❤️

image
Photo courtesy of Maria Moore, taken at The Bataclan and simply titled “Peace, Love, Death Metal”

EODM FAMILY
Blow a kiss for me
To all the beautiful souls
That lost their lives while
Being serenaded
By Boots
In a happy bouncing
Moment
With looks of love and joy In their eyes
Blissfully unaware
Unified by the music
The music that brings us all Together
Rocking out
All the way out
Our friends
We didn’t get to know you
But we love you
Every one

Gone
But never ever
Forgotten
PEACE
LOVE
DEATH METAL
❤️✌🏻️❤️🤘🏻❤️

I am proud to be a fan. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

